Skip to content

Bern Helmets

October 3, 2012

As someone with a basic understanding of statistics and access to bicycle crash data, I’ve long been a proponent of helmet use.  I put my helmet to good use a few years ago when a car ran over my head while crossing highway 54 on my bicycle.  I ended up with a few stitches, but I retained my bike riding abilities: balance, hearing, and sight as well as my ability to perform tasks that require abstract decision making.  In other words, I owe a lot to this $50 piece of styrofoam:

If the idea of looking like there’s a neon bug nesting on your head discourages you from wearing a helmet, then perhaps you should consider one of Bern’s safe and stylish offerings.

The inimitable Robert Bland

We got bunches of ’em in a variety of styles and colors.

More info: http://www.bernunlimited.com/

4 Comments leave one →
  1. October 3, 2012 1:47 pm

    Can they look that good and still protect your noggin?

    • October 3, 2012 2:26 pm

      They have a harder shell and offer more coverage than traditional bicycle helmets, so they may actually be safer than the garden variety brain bucket.

  2. October 3, 2012 3:27 pm

    Handsome boy modeling school must have stopped by !

  3. October 3, 2012 4:00 pm

    As an adult I always wear a helmet (as do my kids in their trailer), but as a kid no one I knew even owned one. For the individual it just makes sense, but as a society maybe we would be better off if we didn’t make such a big deal about them. This article has an interesting take on the subject.

    http://www.nytimes.com/2012/09/30/sunday-review/to-encourage-biking-cities-forget-about-helmets.html

    I like the idea of a tougher lid though…I am on my 3rd Atmos. I had just replaced an old one when I took a spill and cracked the new one :-/

Leave a Reply

