Skip to content

Wake the Fuck Up!

September 28, 2012

Funny and kinda true (and definitely Not Safe for Work):

Unfortunately, not terribly convincing in light of more fact-based arguments like these: http://www.theatlantic.com/politics/archive/2012/09/why-i-refuse-to-vote-for-barack-obama/262861/

13 Comments leave one →
  1. September 28, 2012 4:38 pm

    Dissappointed.

    • September 28, 2012 4:59 pm

      By the language? The brash humor? Or the message?

      If you’re disappointed by the message, rest assured that my posting is not an endorsement.

      My heart, my vote, and my pony all belong to Vermin Supreme:

  2. September 28, 2012 7:11 pm

    I like such humor and language, so, yes, the message. This sentence is the worst piece of political reasoning I’ve read in a long time: ” If enough people start refusing to support any candidate who needlessly terrorizes innocents, perpetrates radical assaults on civil liberties, goes to war without Congress, or persecutes whistleblowers, among other misdeeds, post-9/11 excesses will be reined in.”

    They will not. We’ve got to vote for the lesser evil and then work between elections to rein in our government’s excesses.

    • September 28, 2012 7:59 pm

      Ah. Your disappointment is in the article I posted from The Atlantic (http://www.theatlantic.com/politics/archive/2012/09/why-i-refuse-to-vote-for-barack-obama/262861/), not the Samuel L. Jackson video.

      The argument put forth in the article is certainly not airtight, and I don’t wholly agree with the author’s conclusions, but I certainly sympathize with the view that the body of evidence that should convince me to vote for Obama, rather than just against Romney, is woefully insufficient.

      I, too, am disappointed that there is not a viable candidate for whom I can vote FOR in good conscience.

  3. David E. permalink
    September 28, 2012 10:30 pm

    So what is a party-independent voter to do? Likewise, I have no real interest in voting for Obama, but I probably will anyways because the idea of Romney becoming our President is of greater repugnance to me. Writing in a hopeless 3rd party candidate like Vermin Supreme, Gary Johnson, or Ron Paul (like I did in ’08), seems like a futile act of protest, or an abdication of responsibility, so why bother going to the polls when you could do something more productive with your time, like helping your neighbors, or just going for a nice bike ride?

    • September 28, 2012 11:16 pm

      Why? Because then you’re letting other people vote for you. If that elects Romney, then in my mind, that’s like people who voted for Nader in 2000 and sort of elected W.

      And, as Obama and others have said, just electing someone isn’t enough. You’ve got to keep the pressure on elected officials all the time. I mean, I’d rather ride bikes too, but we’ve got to do it.

      You really want to see what “the greater evil” looks like, look at what the NC legislature is trying to do now that they’re all Republicans. They’re wrecking NC.

      And even if Romney is elected and tries to revert to the sort of moderate style he had as gov of Mass, he won’t be able to resist the crazies in the Congress because they’ll be in his party.

      • September 29, 2012 8:53 am

        George, I think you and I are on the same page in our belief that a values-driven political life involves more than just going to the polls once every couple of years and then patting ourselves on the back.

        Unfortunately, I find myself in this election, as in almost every election I’ve had the opportunity to participate in, tamping my conscience down in order to cast a reluctant vote.

        In the end, I will probably vote for Obama because the alternative is so repugnant, but I can’t help wishing for a system that I (and the other 75% of voting age adults who don’t even bother to show up) could enthusiastically participate in.

        Hell, if votes were cast on Facebook, at least we’d get a higher rate of participation!

  4. September 29, 2012 11:43 am

    I can’t even find someone on the Town Council whom I agree with 100% of the time. We simply can’t expect to vote for someone who thinks the way we do unless we are running ourselves, and I’m not so sure I even agree with myself (bumper sticker: Don’t believe everything you think.).

    So it’s a matter of degree, and the degrees differ between Obama and Romney (many degrees in my opinion).

    I got excited for awhile about proportional representation and instant runoff voting, which would allow us to vote for, say, Gary Johnson, and then for Obama, so our votes would “count”. But our two-party system won’t allow that, of course.

    As someone who runs a small voter database for the OCDP, I see a lot of voter registration records. The law – and thank goodness we have this law – makes it very hard to remove people from the voter roles. Unless the BOE has positive information that you have died or moved away (and such information is hard to get), they cannot remove you until you have missed at least two presidential elections. In other words, it can take 4+ years to remove someone who suddenly stops voting.

    So I don’t believe that voting percentages are dismal as we usually hear. I recommend that you not seek too much comfort in those percentages for not voting.

    And of course online voting (but please, not FB!) would be great, as would Sunday voting, or a national holiday for elections, etc.

    How about this reason for voting: the Republicans are spending millions to keep people like you and me from voting. This is not hyperbole. If folks like that think it’s worth money to keep me from voting, then voting is at least a way to say “Fuck you!!” to them. (See, I’m okay with “language”.)

  5. September 29, 2012 11:44 am

    We ought to just sit down over coffee at Lucky Star and talk. All this typing is wiping me out!

  6. September 29, 2012 2:47 pm
  7. October 1, 2012 5:20 pm

    less type more talk !

Leave a Reply

