Skip to content

Zombie Apocalypse!

October 20, 2011

I can be a bad person to watch a movie with because my disbelief weighs a ton and requires greater than average leverage to be fully suspended.

Apocalyptic movies like “The Road” or “28 Days Later” lull my critical mind to rest pretty easily because I spend a disproportionate share of my waking hours convinced that we’re moribound, and I find many of these movies a convincing, and somewhat cathartic, cinematic realization of that perspective.

However, one consistent flaw among all of these movies is the total lack of salvation by bicycle.

In the end times, I will not be searching frantically for an automobile that still has gas, nor will I be sprinting breathlessly to escape the horde of marauding zombies, I’ll be pedaling leisurely away.

There is some comfort in knowing I’m not the only person in the back of the theater yelling at the protagonist to “Get a fucking bike!”.  The Path Less Pedaled has realized this same vision in the likeness of a T-shirt.  Genius.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. October 20, 2011 11:15 am

    Gotta get me one of those! That’s great.

  2. tnuts permalink
    October 20, 2011 1:27 pm

    In Chapel Hill they say that a relaxed mind is a creative mind and that zombies cannot go uphill so if you move the bikeshop to the bottom of a hill you may find that more people will become zombies.

  3. October 20, 2011 2:01 pm

    one of the biggest failures the movie ‘cloverfield’ had was the distinct lack of it’s characters (mostly 20-something manhattanites) running the hell away from the monster via bike into new jersey! bothered the crap out of me to see a scene with thousands of people attempting to cross the brooklyn bridge without a damn bike in sight.

Leave a Reply

