Skip to content

Oops.

July 12, 2011

To the tall fellow with the Sea Foam Green Giant Road Bike, “I’m sorry.”

I should’ve at least confirmed that you had left the shop before I started talking mad shit about your bike’s advanced state of disrepair.

And, I sincerely regret having mocked your (somewhat overly) ambitious plans to ride hundreds of miles over the next week and a half whether or not you were within earshot; I’ve ridden further than I should have on bikes that were in much worse shape.

It was a dick move on my part I hope you’ll accept my apology.

Jason

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Dainty Daisy permalink
    July 12, 2011 7:57 pm

    Dude, Daisy says, “You need the Hawaian ho’oponopono prayer: I’m sorry, please forgive me, I love you. thank you. Embrace the ‘dude, I love you’ drunken rant!”

  2. Tom Roche permalink
    July 13, 2011 12:05 am

    Unless I’m missing something, you seem to be apologizing not for discussing, much less recognizing, the OP’s overly ambitious ride plans given his bike’s disrepair, but for being overheard. Wouldn’t it have been better not to wait for the OP to leave the shop, but to *tell him*, in the shop, that (in your not so humble, in fact fairly expert, opinion) his plans were unrealistic or even dangerous given the state of his bike?

    There are worse things than overhearing mockery. One that comes to mind is, having one’s bike fail catastrophically when one is least prepared to cope. That being said, I dunno how far gone the bike in question was.

    • July 13, 2011 9:12 am

      @Tom: I gave the customer my professional assessment quite plainly. The bike was overdue for service, but there were no glaring safety hazards. I was trying to phrase my diagnosis carefully so as not to discourage him from enjoying a trip that he’d clearly been planning for a while.

      What he overheard was my very unprofessional commentary: mockery and shit talk for a laugh. It’s a bad habit of mine, but it’s how I blow off steam, and in my estimation it’s preferrable to the alternative: taking things too seriously and being pissed off all the time.

      I would only have lasting regret if I discouraged this dude from riding his bike. Hopefully he’s mocking me in front of his friends and using any lingering frustration he may be carrying to prove me wrong and enjoy the hell out of his bike in spite of its condition.

  3. M!ke Holland permalink
    July 13, 2011 12:49 am

    Sea Foam Green Biker: Take it, Man! I am the king of putting my biking shoes in my mouth and have much practice at apologizing. This is a good apology. It need not be about the bike’s quality, as one man’s ride is one man’s junk. @ Roche: The thought about apologizing for being heard vs the act itself…? Hey, guy stuff. That’s how we are. If we apologized for everything we thought, we be at it all day. You think it, you say it, you apologize, shake hands and done. Beautiful. As for telling a guy his ride is junk, to his face… Ouch! It’s his job to discover that, himself. Now, my wife will tell me my everything is Junk to anyone that want’s to hear, but me telling total strangers to couch their dreams ’cause their equipment isn’t up to scratch… What would a modern climbing shop operator say to Hillary if he dropped by to sharpen his ice-axe on his way up Everest? Caveat 1: If you see the guy about to walk out the door with a part obviously loose, a frame weld cracked and visible, a handlebar about to collapse, a front fork about to snap, etc. then that would be sweet to hear about from anyone. Just my opinion.

  4. Sea Foam Green Giant Biker permalink
    July 13, 2011 11:35 am

    No worries, Back Alley. I’m ready for a new ride and trying to find one in my size (6’5″ ya know!). In the meantime, I just gotta do what I can with what I got. Believe me, I’ve heard the snickers before! Just give me a shout when the tricked-out 64 cm comes into your shop for a song!

    • July 13, 2011 11:51 am

      Thanks for accepting my apology. Nothing personal, of course. Like I said to Tom, talking shit is a bad habit, but it’s how I blow off steam. It can sometimes feel like a crushing weight to have so much work, especially when you want to help someone out, but it’s a good problem to have, so I try to laugh off the stress. I certainly meant no harm and I’m glad you took it in stride.

      I talked to the guys down at The Bicycle Chain and they said they were able to get your bike taken care of in time, so I’m glad to know that you’ll be in good shape to get the most out of your vacation.

      Enjoy your trip and I’ll see what I can conjure up for a suitable replacement.

  5. Daisy's Mom permalink
    July 13, 2011 1:42 pm

    Whew! Glad to hear you boys shook hands and made up. Now give each other a hug and a big wet sloppy one!

Leave a Reply

