Skip to content

Shoes for the Cobbler’s Children

March 7, 2011

My mid-70’s Ross Eurotour three speed is my everyday bike.  It’s equipped with a huge basket, steel fenders, and a double kickstand.  This 47 pound errand runner is my heaviest, most used, and least cared for bicycle.

The chain is always loose, the tires are always soft, and I’m pretty sure that frame was never welded together, but I love this bike.  Perhaps I should demonstrate my love for my bike with more regular maintenance, but this bike’s reliability in spite of my neglect is one of the reasons I love it so much.

I dropped the chain a few months ago hopping off a curb and shredded most of the driveside spokes.  Since then, I’ve been riding on borrowed time, putting off fixing my bike in favor of fixing a customer’s bike, and waiting for catastrophic failure.

Well, what’s a rainy Sunday good for if not catching up on long overdue bicycle maintenance.  Demons exorcised.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Daisy's Mom permalink
    March 7, 2011 12:48 pm

    I’m so glad this poor neglected child finally got some attention!

  2. Matt M. permalink
    March 8, 2011 5:33 pm

    It sounds like your Ross has experienced the same neglect that my ’65 Hercules 3speed does. They don’t build ’em like they used to.

  3. chris merrill permalink
    March 10, 2011 10:51 am

    I had no idea that dad’s old bike lives on, when I rode it with Rachel when we were @ the cottage she called it the worlds oldest bike, little did she know its life expectancy probably exceeds mine

    • March 10, 2011 11:24 am

      All the beach rust that once covered the bike certainly made it look and ride like a much older bike than it was. It’s still not a shiny racer, but it’s a surprisingly awesome bike.

Leave a Reply

