Skip to content

Dear Drivers,

September 23, 2010

Please pay more attention.

Thanks,

Cyclists

p.s.  Dave Deming, the operator of this crushed bicycle, is alive and fairing surprisingly well considering he smashed into someone’s windshield yesterday.  I wouldn’t be surprised if he still rode a bike to work today.

15 Comments leave one →
  1. September 23, 2010 1:13 pm

    is that bus driver dave?!
    glad everyone is alright though.

  2. Dave the busdriver permalink
    September 23, 2010 1:35 pm

    Yikes! As I said to Tim Auble during his close inspection of my bike, post accident, how would you go about truing up that wheel? I feel very fortunate to have been able to walk away from that contretemps. Two red flashing lights (one at helmet level, one at seat level) are not enough to catch every drivers attention at Eubanks & Millhouse Rds at 5:40 AM. But hey, I’m alive and singing the body electric. I know what Winston Churchill meant when (during the Great War, you know, the one that would end em all) he said,”There is nothing more exhilarating than to be shot at without result.” Thank you Jason for your confidence in my cycling derring do, but I’m peddling vicodin in the bloodstream for a few days. Bike to work later.

    • Phil Blank permalink
      September 23, 2010 5:21 pm

      It’s always an inspiration to see you biking around town with the crazy loads on your bike (I think I saw logs at one point). Super glad to hear you’re ok.

    • Tim auble permalink
      September 23, 2010 8:05 pm

      Soon bikeagain will replace vicodin. Until then it is nice to have my friend still on the planet. Everyone make sure and be seen. Use ample lighting, and above else ALWAYS! Wear a helmet where ever you pedal your tail. Tim

  3. Seth Vidal permalink
    September 23, 2010 5:31 pm

    Wow, I hope someone was issued a ticket and insurances were exchanged. B/c that sure LOOKS like a rear-ending to me. Clearly the car driver was at fault.

    • September 23, 2010 6:04 pm

      It was, in fact, a classic rear-ending and the automobile driver was found to be completely at fault. The insurance adjuster left the shop mere moments ago. It looks like Dave should be getting himself a fine new bicycle.

  4. Alex C permalink
    September 23, 2010 8:01 pm

    Not that I know him, but a new bike, a reminder that life is short and to treasure every moment, all this attention on this blog: Dave’s ahead! That is, aside from the pain, days or weeks of recovery, and likely continued stress reactions to motorized vehicles passing. Seriously, get well soon, Dave.

  5. ben also permalink
    September 23, 2010 9:02 pm

    i’m just glad dave’s okay. he’s a solid dude, and i wouldn’t be surprised if he still rode his (other) bike to work today, either.

  6. Dave the busdriver permalink
    September 29, 2010 6:58 pm

    This just in: an insurance cog just agreed, with very little back and forth, to dip into the corporate coffers and give me exactly the amount that Back Alley Bikeshop CEO Merrill figured my bike was worth. I love it when big business and small business agree. (I’d worked up a stunning aria in my head while driving bus today: Japanese pedals, Chris King headset, doublewall wheel upgrades, turns out I didn’t need to sing it.)

  7. Rackalie permalink
    October 3, 2010 7:12 pm

    Dave! Heard your story at the Really Really Free Market. Thanks for sharing and playing your banjo for me.

  8. Dave the busdriver permalink
    October 14, 2010 6:53 pm

    Yesterday Informal Shrink (ah, that explains the bikeshop couch) Jason Merrill did something provocative. Realising that the skater who’s fallen through the ice needs to get back up on the pond of life gently, he took the tandem off the bikestand and indicated the stoker’s throne and said, “Shall we ride?” And ride we did. One city block. We swerved and tilted at windmills; the clarion call from the captain,OK Stop Pedaling still rings in my ears. Two random individuals doth not make a tandem team, though for clown biking and confidence building it might be just enough. My fractured coccyx is not quite ready to ride, but my brain is in better shape thru Jason’s intervention.

    • Seth Vidal permalink
      October 14, 2010 8:50 pm

      So, let us be clear: tandems are great for all sorts of things.

      Yay to Jason for being a good captain.

  9. Dave the busdriver permalink
    October 23, 2010 10:26 am

    It’s been a month and a day since my left buttock assaulted an innocent (or shall we say, unaware) windshield, busting it to glorious smithereens. I’m walking, riding the bus. It’s a treat to be a bus passenger! Slowly my tailbone heals. I lust after bikes. They’re damn near everywhere. It feels like I’m cheating to go visit Basta as a pedestrian rather than as a cyclist, but does he give a hoot? I dare say not. (In an alternate universe, there’s a bikeshop with an resident owl who does indeed give a hoot.)

Trackbacks

  1. Dave’s Dr. Good « Back Alley Bikes

Leave a Reply

