Skip to content

Buke and Gass

April 27, 2010

Now that I’m well into my 30s, I’m reluctantly coming to terms with the fact that I’m becoming an adult.  I’ve got a job, a family, a house, and a dog.  My life is a Norman Rockwell painting.

But it’s more than just the trappings of adulthood, I’ve also developed the habits of an adult.  I like waking up early, I prefer a good book to electronic entertainment, and I listen to National Public Radio every day.

In fact, it’s my NPR habit that lead me to my realizations of adulthood.  Heather and I were talking about NPR shows that we liked and I was marveling at how well NPR had adapted to a younger audience.  As soon as I started describing how much NPR’s programming resonated with me I realized that they’re not adapting to a younger audience, I’m just aging into their demographic.

A quick inventory of media I’ve ingested lately reveals a disturbing number of NPR endorsements: books I heard about on Morning Edition, movies made by directors interviewed on Fresh Air, and music I heard on a podcast of Radio Lab.

My primary source for music is recommendations from friends, but there are more NPR approved albums on my mp3 player than I’m comfortable admitting.

The latest NPR-mined gem is a Brooklyn-based two piece called Buke and Gass (sounds like “byook and gase”).  Their named is derived from the names of their instruments, the buke (baritone ukelele) and the gass (a guitar with bass strings).  In addition to playing their funny instruments and singing, they play percussion with their feet silmutaneously .

They make an almost supernatural amount of sound for just two people, and in spite of the super complex song structure and constantly shifting time signatures, they write some surprisingly catchy tunes.

Listen.

Buy.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Seth Vidal permalink
    April 27, 2010 7:22 pm

    I used to be in the same boat. I would listen to morning edition every morning – sometimes 2 times through. I would listen to marketplace and fresh air every night.

    Then in the last couple of years something happened. I found that NPR is not liberal enough for me. They started slanting right. When I heard a conservative shock-jock being interviewed on all things considered as if he was somehow ‘news’ I finally got fed up.

    I don’t listen to morning edition anymore, either, after being completely tired of steve inskeep casting not-so-subtle aspersions that anyone on the left was utterly crazy.

    Listen to inskeep’s crap sometime and see how much they’ve slid to the right. I miss Bob Edwards.

    if I listen to anything at all anymore, I listen to WCPE and I get my news by reading the bbc.

    • April 27, 2010 8:21 pm

      I actually listen to NPR more for entertainment than news. I look to The Daily Show and The Onion for news. Straight news makes me want to burn everything down, so I prefer to keep up to date with a healthy dose of laughter.

Leave a Reply

