Skip to content

BikeSnobNYC: The Book

February 3, 2010

I was first turned on to the BikeSnobNYC blog about a month after it’s inception, and I’ve been an avid follower ever since.   There are a few blogs that I’ll check on rare occasion, but I read BikeSnobNYC daily.

I don’t always agree with what he has to say, but I always get a chuckle out of his observations.  There are few voices publicly broadcast into the world that are so in tune with my own inner monologue: seething critiques, obscure bike info, punk and heavy metal references, lots of giggling, and a dollop of schadenfreude.

The blog’s following has grown at a phenomenal rate, and the Bike Snob’s role has quickly morphed from cantankerous outsider to cycling media superstar.  It is only in the very narrow context of the cycling media that he could be called a star, but it is no less impressive that what was once a casual blog has lead to actual print publishing.  It’s the Lazy American Dream: to achieve overwhelming success in the course of one’s daily life.

As a bona fide superfan, I have eagerly awaited the publishing of the Bike Snob book ever since it was first announced on his blog last spring.  So it was with great enthusiasm that I traded a single beer and a used 1 1/8 threaded Chris King headset to Busdriver Dave for an advanced copy of the Bike Snob book.

Needless to say, I tore through the book in a couple of days.

When it comes to music, movies, and books, I have a bad habit of setting up unachievable expectations that inevitably lead to disappointment.  This is a well documented pattern, yet I feel almost totally powerless in controlling this tendency.

Fortunately, the Bike Snob book deftly maneuvered around my expectations.  It’s surprisingly upbeat, engrossing, illuminating, accessible, and practical.  In other words, very different from the blog.  Like the blog, it’s funny and at times caustic, but it relies much less on brash judgment and much more on an unbridled enthusiasm for cycling than I anticipated.

This is a book for both seasoned cycling veterans as well as total outsiders.  Unexpectedly inspiring, it can only encourage folks to ride bikes more, even if they haven’t been on a bike since they were kids.

The list of folks to borrow this book is already long, but we’ll be sure to have some copies for sale at the bike shop when the book is released in May.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. February 5, 2010 6:11 pm

    How the heck did Busdriver Dave get an advance copy of the book?

  2. Thomas permalink
    February 11, 2010 9:31 am

    I can not wait, I’d trade all my other books for that one right there.

    • February 11, 2010 12:56 pm

      According to the back cover, you’ll only have to wait ’til May. Re-reading all your other books until then should keep you busy, eh?

Leave a Reply

