Skip to content

The Road

January 5, 2010

Last winter I read The Road by Cormac McCarthy.  It is an incredibly beautiful story set in a very stark time in the near future.  The images from the novel definitely stuck with me throughout the winter and had a heavy influence on the music I chose to listen to.  The aural landscape was bleak, and I loved it.

This past weekend I saw the film adaptation of The Road. I’m currently re-reading the novel, and I think the movie might be a little more dismal than the book, but overall a fairly spot on rendition.  The biggest effect it’s had is that I’m wandering back out onto the empty aural plains I travelled extensively last winter.

I’m never sure if listening to slow, depressing music is beneficial because it’s cathartic, or if it just drags me into despair.

Regardless, here’s some dark music that’s currently in heavy rotation:

Lurker of Chalice – self-titled

This album is so dark it’s almost comical, but it’s too dark for anything more than a nervous chuckle.

Wolves in the Throne Room – Two Warriors

Wave after wave of blast beats and screaming.  Like swimming in a dead ocean.

Sunn – The Black One

Like a horror movie soundtrack without the catchy melodies and rhythms.

Jesu –Conqueror

With an average tempo of 40 BPM this is probably the most upbeat record on this list.

and the ultimate post-apocalyptic nightmare…

GodspeedYou Black Emperor – F#A#infinity

The opening lines recited over a single note drone:

“The car is on fire, and there’s no driver behind the wheel.  The sewers are all muddied with a thousand lonely suicides, and a dark wind blows.”

Good luck making it through the winter with this soundtrack.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Seth Vidal permalink
    January 5, 2010 2:28 am

    If you’re of a mood for post-apocalyptic visions of the world I’ll see if I can find my copy of ‘Beyond Armageddon” It’s an anthology of short stories about events leading up to an following the collapse of civilization.

    Edited by Walter Miller, Jr who also wrote the class post-apocalyptic story: A Canticle for Leibowitz.

    Miller killed himself shortly after the publication of the anthology.

    http://www.amazon.com/Beyond-Armageddon-Walter-Miller-Jr/dp/0803283156

Leave a Reply

