Skip to content

Wald Giant Delivery Basket

January 14, 2010

The classic paperboy bike basket is not a common accessory these days, but it is one of the most useful things I have ever attached to my bike.

Bikes with a bolt-on front wheel and swept-back handlebars are the best for front baskets.  These are ubiquitous features on the bikes of yesteryear, but they are uncommon on new bikes which is why the basket has fallen out of favor.

My yesteryear bike is a department store Ross that my grandfather bought in the 70’s, which he rode into his 70’s.  It was a clunky, heavy bike when I inherited it and I wondered if I would ever find a use for it.  On a whim I bolted this basket to it and instantly transformed it into the most regularly used bike in my fleet.

It can easily carry 40 lbs. of dog food with surprisingly little effect on the steering.  Other common items found in my basket include: a week’s worth of groceries for three, cases of beer, and a clapped out boom box blaring blast beats.

Not only is it practical, it could save your ass someday.  The basket shown in the photo above acquired it’s distinctive twist one night when a Mini Cooper made a sudden, unsignaled turn directly in front of me.  The basket sheared the mirror off the Cooper and saved me and the bike from what could’ve easily been much more destructive encounter.

It’s easy to see the cheap price of this amazing basket ($33) and assume that it’s made in a sweatshop far out of sight.  Not so, it’s still made in the factory they opened in Kentucky in 1924!

This basket doesn’t work well with every bicycle, but on the right bike it has near magical abilities.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Neil permalink
    January 15, 2010 6:06 pm

    it would be cool to know what the trail figure is for that bike. Tool here:

    http://kogswell.com/geoSLIDE.php

  2. dad permalink
    January 31, 2010 2:15 am

    Faster to install than a speeding bullet, or Extracycle conversion.

  3. Gil permalink
    January 16, 2012 11:03 pm

    I was a paperboy in the 1970’s and the Wald Giant Basket is what I used. I had a black heavy duty Schwinn with balloon tires and delivered 130 papers every morning. That experience has stayed with me all of my life. It taught me the value of money and I learned responsability. I started out using a much ligher Schwinn Speedster, and if I hit a bump, the weight of the newspapers in the basket would catapult me over the handlebars. Once I switched to the heavy duty bike, things worked much better. I’ve since learned of the advantage of having longer forks and a small front wheel to better distribute the weight.

Trackbacks

  1. Rad Basket « Back Alley Bikes

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 252 other followers

